How I decided to plan my trip

Budget: 800 euros

Day 1: I took my flight from Marseille because I have family there and it was easier. Ryanair is cheap and I could afford 160 euros for the flight. I arrived at 9 pm. I decided to try the couch surfing for the first time. I was staying in a lovely house. A family of 4 had an empty room where I could stay. I could save my money because it was free. I offered a nice bottle of wine to the family and everyone enjoyed that moment. And ... After that I was so tired I decided to sleep but before I asked the best places to visit in Edinburgh to be ready for the next day coming.

Day 2: The first thing I wanted to do was some food shopping for the family because I don't pay anything for staying in Edinburgh. I came to this food market [x] where I could find a lot of organic ingredients.

I was cooking "Bouillabaisse" soup and a "tarte tatin" to make discover French food (and maybe because I wanted to avoid some English meal).

In the afternoon I visited to go for a big walk and I joined the iconic castle of Edinburgh. It was really expensive !: £16.50 but it was overwhelming, I learnt a lot about the history of Edinburgh and the atmosphere was really special. The website is here if you need more informations: [x]

Day 3: I had a huge breakfast with sausages, eggs, black pudding, and red beans.

I came to the beach after for a good walk. I was freezing but it was breathtaking.

In the evening the daughter of the family took me to a free gig in a nice, welcoming pub : The Biddy Mulligans [x] .I can't remember the name of the band because I got so drunk this night! Crazy.

Day 4: This time the son of the family made me discover the Teviot Row House for lunch. It is very practical because it is next the university and cheap enough: I had a veggie burger and fried potatoes for 10 pounds. You can find more informations here: [x]

Day 5: My flight was at 6pm, so I had plenty time. I raised early to do some shopping ! I mean I admire English girls, they have a specific style and they don't care about how short their skirts are. Sometimes they should care to be honest ... Or doing more sport. I don't know. I bought a lovely shirt in Topshop and a tee shirt in River Island for 45 pounds.

For my last day I couldn't leave without having tried a fish&chips ! Let's be honest, it was fat, but really good.

Retour à l'accueil